It is the aim of the past and present staff that the children, during their time at Kuraby State School, may experience education to its fullest degree and be given every opportunity of attaining the school's motto to "Succeed in all."
The first approach to the Education Department for establishment of a school at Kuraby was made by Mr Charles A. Jacob when on the 1st June 1923, he requested full particulars as to "The mode of procedure required to have a school erected." As a result of that enquiry, a list of parents and children residing near the proposed school was supplied to the Education Department and a building committee was formed.
It was however not until January 1928, that the Department approved of the erection of a school building. The first building was erected by the Construction and Maintenance Branch of the Department of Works and was completed on the 8th June, 1928 at the cost of £1,348.00.
In 1968, Kuraby State School celebrated its 40th Anniversary at the original site and thoughts were on a new school for the area. The new Kuraby School in Beenleigh Road was officially opened on the 20th May 1972 by the then Deputy Premier, Sir Gordon Chalk, K.B.E., M.L.H. The needs of the district were further served when the Pre-School opened its doors for the first time on May 19th, 1975.
In 2003, Kuraby State School celebrated its 75th Anniversary.
The name "Kuraby" comes from an aboriginal word meaning "a place of many springs." It was given this name because the area very close to the school is quite marshy and water from these springs forms Bulimba Creek on one side and Slacks Creek on the other . The settlement of Kuraby began in 1860, when the Hollosons and Bakers cleared land to commence farming.